Load More

The Columbus Clippers minor league baseball team looks to add another trophy to the case this year as they defend their back-to-back Governors’ Cup championships. The team dominated the International League in 2011 and look to continue the trend in 2017. The triple-A affiliate of MLB’s Cleveland Indians, the Columbus Clippers play in Columbus Ohio and are owned by the Franklin County government. 2017 Columbus Clippers minor league baseball tickets will be a hot item as the team looks for its’ third championship in a row.

The 2017 Colombus Clippers lineup features manager Mike Sarbaugh, pitchers Hector Ambriz, Eric Berger, Paolo Espino, Matt Langwell, Chen Lee, Matt Packer, Hector Rondon, Mitch Talbot, catcher Luke Carlin, infielders Jared Goedert, Beau Mills, and outfielders Ben Copeland, Trevor Crowe, Tim Fedroff and Chad Huffman. Some Columbus Clipper players may get called up the big leagues in 2017, most notably reliever RHP Chen Lee. He is projected as a setup man and has a deceptive delivery with a low arm slot and he throws in the 92-93 mph range and can reach back for a little more when necessary. He also has an above average slider and can mix in the splitter to keep hitters off-balance. He had a 2.40 ERA while splitting time with AA Akron and AAA Columbus last year. Another good reliever is RHP Paolo Espino, who had a 2.77 ERA in 2011 is also a potential 2017 call-up. The Cleveland Indians number one prospect in the entire farm system is SS Francisco Lindor, the no. 8 pick in the 2011 Draft. While he will most likely start the season in single A Lake County, he may make it to Columbus in the near future.

In 2010, the Columbus Clippers defeated the Tacoma Rainiers to win the Triple-A Baseball National Championship Game. In 2011, the Clippers won back-to-back Governors’ Cups by beating the Lehigh Valley Iron Pigs and they defeated the Omaha Storm Chasers in the Triple-A Baseball National Championship Game to win their second consecutive AAA title. The Columbus Clippers’ 2009 move to Huntington Park in Columbus, Ohio had proven to be successful as the team continues ringing up International League championships. From 1977 until 2008, the Columbus Clippers played in Cooper Stadium or “The Coop.” Since 1977, the Columbus Clippers have been an affiliate of the Pittsburgh Pirates, the New York Yankees and Washington Nationals. The Columbus Clippers have won the Governors’ Cup and International League Championship nine times.

Show More
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • bvseo-msg: EXECUTION_TIMEOUT is set to 0 ms; JavaScript-only Display.